Longshaw Lodge was built in 1827 for the Duke of Rutland as a shooting box for his 11,533 acres.
from Derbyshire Heritage
The lodge was built about 1827 to provide a retreat for the Duke of Rutland’s shooting guests, amongst whom were King George V and the Duke of Wellington. After it came into the hands of the National Trust, it was let for a while as a ‘Holiday Fellowship’ guest house. In 1969, it was converted into private flats.
On the 5th July 1927 all 11,533 acres of the Longshaw Estate went up for sale by auction.
The estate was sub-divided into many different lots. Lot 1 contained the lodge and all of its park-like grounds plus an area of land known as Lawrence Field that was described as “well heathered picturesque moorland”. This 747 acre plot is what today is referred to as the Longshaw Estate.
Sheffield Council purchased 3,000 acres of moorland at this auction, primarily for the collection of water but in 1931 they handed over the Longshaw Estate to the National Trust for the sum of £14,000 and today it is still owned and managed by the National Trust along with Burbage and the Eastern Moors.